Inspiration from others · MinsGame · Updates

Project 333

So on the 15th December (which also happened to be my Birthday), a documentary I had been meaning to watch for a while appeared on Netflix.

Minimalism: A Documentary about the Important Things is a Documentary created and produced by The Minimalists. These are guys I’ve been following for a few years with the hope of finding some more focus in my life and really work out what makes me happy. It was finding their blog that helped inspire me to start knitting and blogging again. I love their work and just wanted to share 🙂

So their new Documentary appeared on Netflix UK on the 15th of December and – having had prior warning from their Social Media channels – I watched it while having breakfast 🙂  So a nice and relaxing start to the day. It was a really interesting watch though and it covered a range of minimalist type topics.

One of my favourite concepts is the tiny house movement. Essentially people change their situation so that they par down their possessions and outright by a house. The only drawback is the house is tiny, but they do still look rather beautiful.

Credit: tinyhouseuk.co.uk

For me, especially with bubs on the way, this really wouldn’t be a feasible option right now. But I do appreciate the message of not purposely buying x amount of space because you can afford it and just buying the amount of space that you actually need. The trouble is with excess space is you fill it with excess stuff and then what do you do with all that excess stuff…? etc. But the concept does have a slightly romantic notion to the entire thing and if I was single then I would certainly look into the concept – because I have no idea how a single person my age has any hope of buying any sort of home in this market.

The other concept discussed that I really felt inspired by was the 333 project. Essentially the aim is to only dress in 33 items for 3 months – the aim being to work out what clothing/accessories/shoes/outerwear you actually use and enjoy wearing.  So things that apparently don’t count towards the 33: sentimental items that you don’t take off, PJ’s, workout clothing and underwear. In my opinion that does make this concept a little easier!

With the prospect of a post bump body in the relatively near future, I can start looking into clothes that actually fit 🙂 So what I’d really like to do is out together a wardrobe that I really enjoy wearing. I’ll need smartish clothes for work and comfy clothes for home that I  don’t mind being covered in baby sick. After bubs is born, I’ll bring down the box of clothes that I’ve stored in the loft and work out what I actually want to wear again! From that as a starting point I can work out what I need to buy (although a lot will try to come from Charity shops initially as I want to spend some time losing weight in the new year).

 Baby Brain Signing off

MrsKirstyHoll

X

2 thoughts on “Project 333

  1. Happy birthday, you are a birthday twin to my in the middle son. Good luck with the minimalist thing, it’s not me, but I see the merit of the concept.

    1. Thank you 🙂 Hope you son had a lovely Birthday! I couldn’t go extreame minimalism – but a lot of the messages of simplification and focus have really helped me focus 🙂

Leave a Reply

