F.O. – my first pair of socks!

So my sock virginity has finally been broken! I offically finished these off on Friday – but it took me a couple of days to get this post together 🙂

So the pattern was from my Art of Knitting magazine. It was designed as a beginners sock pattern on straight needles. That was a fairly good classification I think. Don’t get me wrong, there were lots I needed to google. But it wasn’t a huge learning curve and the instructions (for the most part) were pretty easy to follow. 

Apart from the feet (which were a little big), the rest of the sock fits really well. The leg portion seems to stay up without any issues and is the length I wanted it to be. 

I wore them to work on Friday with my black ugg boots. It was cold outside and I really wanted an excuse to wear them!! This is my favourite thing about knitting – being able to actually wear stuff you have made (I’m wearing my original green scraf a lot at the moment!).

Long term though the plan is for these to be indoor socks. I figured they would be really comfy around the house during my maternity leave with bubs! 🙂 

Thanks so much for all the support and advice during this knit – seriously could not have got to this point without you all! 

Next stop is to cast on a tank top for bubs. Will update you with that one during the week! 

Baby brain signing off

MrsKirstyHoll

X

8 thoughts on “F.O. – my first pair of socks!

  1. Yay! I bet it feels great to have them finished 🙂 I’ve been working on my first pair as well but of course I had to go for a tricky pattern 😓 hopefully I can finish them before the end of the year! Excited to see what you knit up for the baby, I’m sure it’ll be extra cute 🙂

  2. Congratulations on finishing your first pair of socks! I’ve never seen a pattern that was knit flat and then sewn up, so it was very interesting watching them come together. I can’t wait to see what you make for the Bubs!

Leave a Reply

