BABY · Knitting · My WIP Projects · Uncategorized

Square 38 – Diagonal lines and Excel

So finally finished Square 38 a couple of days ago. It actually looks really funky and I’m still so amazing by the patterns you can make with pearl and knit stitches.

14292265_10157374219690247_336854410487039505_n

I love the pattern, but I’m not sure how long I could keep it up for in a big project though. Whenever I tried to knit this in company I tended to end up having to back track as I’d miscounted… Although that could have been something to do with working one project in 2 stitches and this one in 3. Brain kept getting very confused….

So over to Excel…

So I was trying to figure out how to work this patchwork project a bit smarter. I have over 50 squares left to knit in the project and I don’t feel like I’ve made a huge amount of progress with it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s done wonders for my confidence in knitting and I’ve learnt so much. But I feel no closer to actually finishing it….

So I started inputting all the patterns and colours into Excel. The plan being that I can do this project in batches by pattern. Theorizing (as seems to be working with the socks) sticking with a pattern seems to significantly speed up my knitting. The perk with Excel is that I can filter by pattern and use that to grab the colours I need and ensure I have the patterns I need.

untitled

I love Excel, it makes me so happy 🙂 The plan is to delete each square off the list as I complete it.

I’ve picked up the garter stitch squares for the minute as those should be a couple of really quick wins. After that the plan is to get on with the chequerboard I think. I need to get this finished by the time bubs gets here!

14344129_10157377046045247_8312451505650787428_n

Only 4 months to go. About 14 weeks left of work before I take some time off for Christmas that will then roll over to maternity leave. So I’ll only have about 2 weeks to finish off any last minute stuff before bubs arrives. So all hands (and needles) on deck now 🙂

Baby Brain Signing off

MrsKirstyHoll

x

4 thoughts on “Square 38 – Diagonal lines and Excel

    1. Thanks 🙂 it was k3, p3 in a gradient 🙂 only the one colour for this one. But it would be fun in 2. I love my bumb
      But barely any pre pregnancy clothes fit me now!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

