Book Review · Reflections · Uncategorized · Updates

Book Review: The Diamond Queen: Elizabeth II and Her People. Andrew Marr

28904700

I’m starting to really make time in my life to actually do some more reading. With the summer finally starting to look like it’s not fa away, I’m able to make use of my garden bench and enjoy the morning sun. Cup of tea and a good book are a great way to start the day!

This was another my my charity shop book finds. I’m pretty sure there was a buy one get one free offer and I picked this up as my freebie… anyhow, it’s been sat looking dispondant my bookshelf for years and on my bedside table for months.

Some good news! I have finally finished it.

Written by Andrew Marr, this book is seriously not a page turner. But if, like me, you have an interest/fascination with the British royal family, this book is really worth a read.

It contains a really interesting narrative about how the definition of being ‘Queen for Britain’ has slowly changed over the last century. He also describes how the Windor’s have learnt to cope with these changes, in order to stay relevant to a modern age.

Although a bit ‘stuffy’ (the total opposite to the style of, say, Phillapa Gregory) this book is worth perusing if you have an interest as the content is really fascinating.

So what are you lovely lot reading at the moment?

Mrs Kirsty Holl

x

Leave a Reply

