Chance Encounters · NaNoWriMo · Writing

NaNoWriMo2015 – Chance Encounters – Chapter 2

The Diary of Amelia.

17th January 2015

So…. This is a bit weird. I am pretty sure that the last time I kept any sort of diary or journal I was in my early teens. My sister gave this to me as a late Christmas present (along with a beautiful fountain pen which I have been desperate to use ever since opening the small beautifully wrapped package).

So here I am, feeling like I’m talking to myself in my head, but on paper. So I will now have a documented record of my inner monologue.

 

Some information about me:

My name is Amelia. I wish I was taller (my sister is and I am honestly insanely jealous of this).

I love the spaghetti bolognaise that my husband cooks on very rare occasions. The only time I eat seafood is if I’m in a posh restaurant with fresh fish.

I’m currently feeling a little like my teenage self and not sure how I feel about that.

So rather than scribbling random notes in this thing (Mark is seriously just looking weirdly right now!) I really should be knitting. I was sent through a pattern for the most beautiful blue striped aran yarn jumper last week – the actually want to me to review it!!! I feel really excited about the whole prospect. But a little nervous about it as it’s a child’s sized one and I don’t have anyone to wear it.

On the subject of Mark, he is my gorgeously handsome husband and he is sitting on the other side of the sofa (his legs are a great foot rest). The fire is going in the grate and I literally feel like if someone told me this was heaven I would not argue with them.

This is my first diary and it’s the beginning of the year. So I should, really, write down all of those resolutions that I have to really try and keep to this year. Getting to the end of last year and finding I had not actually achieved anything of any note was seriously depressing.

  1. Must start actually do some sort of exercise. The internet is advising me that knitting does not actually count as proper exercise. Not good.
  2. Start knitting more test patterns. I really love the concept of this. It gives me a chance to push myself in my knitting ability and I get to have a go at some really cool patterns.
  3. Decorate the house. We have not actually really decorated since we moved in. It is all creams and magnolias. NOT ENOUGH GLITTER!!
  4. Write more blog content. Currently, I am only posting about once a week. It would be great to be able to get some more content up there. Writing keeps my brain actually alive.
  5. Have a baby. We’ve been trying for so long to get pregnant. The doctor doesn’t seem to think anything is actually wrong with me. But…. I don’t understand how I can want something so badly when some people only need the once… I’ve done everything else right. Don’t I deserve it?

Anyway, I should really get on with casting on those stitches… Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

