Season change = clothing sort out

So, once again, I’m at a point where my clothes need yet another sort through. I’ve been reading a few posts from The minimalists about some people that only own between 35- 50 items of clothing (including underwear).

This makes me think that (even after the sort through in May) that I still have too many clothes.

I’ve already sorted through my coats this morning. I managed to get it down from 10 to about 6 that I wore regularly over the summer and last winter. So I will add that to the stash of clothes I will try to sell at the fabric place and hopefully get enough to treat myself to lunch 🙂

Although the denim won’t be leaving the house… I have a craft project in mind for that…..

Stage one: jeans and trousers for home

The trouble I have with trousers I currently own is that I don’t fit most of them. Having lost some weight with the running I have dropped a couple of jean sizes and most now can’t be worn without a belt.

I think that’s a sign that most need to go and I need to go and treat myself to a few nice pairs 🙂 Who needs more than 2- 3 pairs of jeans??

12 pairs went to 5 denim and 1 linen 🙂 (not quite 3… but they’ll do until I’ve saved up some cash to go clothes shopping!).

image

Stage 2: T-shirts for home

Honestly I had no idea how many T-shirts I had until I dug all of them out of the cupboard and put them on the bed.

There are 25. That doesn’t include any that might currently be in the wash or the one I’m wearing…. youch….

This is a before shot.

image

This exercise wasn’t as hard as I though it might be.

And then there were 14.

image

That looks a lot more manageable and vastly more practical!

Stage 3: Closest dump

Let me introduce you to the contents on my side of the wardrobe…

image

This doesn’t include my clothing for work. I’m starting a new job next week where I will be wearing office wear. So my amount of office wear is fairly minimal. Will expand that as and when I feel the need.

Jackets = 1 denim and 1 light weight jumper. Can’t remember the last time I wore those. So both in the tub.

Skirts = 6. Some fairly recent additions given to me by a family member who was having a sort through. But I don’t really need that many do I?

Down to 3.

Dresses = 2 maxi. Both very similar so 1 has to go. 2 casual. If I want a casual one I tend to wear the maxi and I’ve had those 2 for ages. So they can go. 2 nice ones. Will keep both of them as I don’t have much clothing that suites parties or nice restaurants and they would be expensive to replace. 1 clubbing appropriate. Who am I kidding? I haven’t been clubbing since March and I don’t think I will be going again any time soon.

3 pairs of shoes also disappeared to the bin pile as they are either super uncomfortable or just look really tired. So I will need to go shopping for a nice pair of ‘going out shoes’. This sounds fun!

Stage 4: Jumper shelf

All my heavy jumpers/knitted items are kept on a separate shelf as it makes them easier to store!

Does it sound really bad when I say that I did not realise that there were 10 items of clothing in this shelf. I would have bet there was less that this….

image

Made it to 6… But got rid of a couple that just didn’t fit very well at all.

Total clothes so far = 48. So made it into the 50 region if we don’t include my running clothes, P.J’s or underwear… That counts right?

Stage 5 = underwear drawer. (Shockingly I have decided not to photograph this section!!)

Although I obviously can’t bring myself to below the 50 with my underwear. But it does need a sort through as the drawer is starting to over flow!

Started with 68 items in the said drawer (hence the over-flowing)!!!

Now down to 32 items for the minutes. You can actually find things in the drawer now!

Total clothing items (not including running wear, work clothes or P.J’s) = 80 items. Will need to do another sort through to reduce again.

Still some way to go I think. But I do have 2 blue Ikea bags full of clothes to sell to clothing recyclers (*£4.80 for me! Not much, but super easy to do and will help fund my NanoWrimo liquid inspiration next week*). So that is pretty cool 🙂 Hopefully the washing will also now be easier. But I will have another sort through in about another month and see what I actually wear once I get into the work/home routine again.

Have you guys had a sort through recently? Do you feel like you need to? It’s really easy and took me about an hour. But well worth it as it means I can now find the clothes I actually like a lot easier!

Happy knitting

X

6 thoughts on “Season change = clothing sort out

  1. I’ve been feeling the pull to purge. Thanks for sharing as its been encouraging for me to read. It’s been so tricky for me to get stuff done with the two little ones, but I hope to make progress before our move. So maybe I can join you soon.

    • If you just door it in small stages. A drawer here or a shelf there it does start to make a huge difference. That’s how I initially started getting into the habit. 🙂

  2. wow, you have been busy. I dont think I can survive on just 35 – 50 items in total. That would probably just be my shoes. 🙂
    I do tend to check every season for all the clothes that I have not worn the previous season at all, and those I donate.
    I guess I am lucky to have a wardrobe all to myself, and a wardrobe in the spare room for the “off-season” clothes to be kept in until I need to change over.
    You were really good at this, and I should follow your example and donate more as well. 🙂 Thanks for a great post.

    • Thanks 🙂 To be honest I think 50 items would be a push for me. The Minimalists logic is having less clothing but better quality clothing (I usually have a lot from charity shops). What I would love to have is a few pieces of nice clothing.

      An “off season” wardrobe is a great idea. Unfortunately, my spare room is currently filled with craft accessories… so I’m essentially sacrificing clothing for yarn stash space…. lol.

      Learning how too has taken practice. It’s getting into the right mentality to be able to part with stuff. 🙂

      • I should also look at my shopping some time, specially when buying clothes. I have favourite colours for clothes and shoes, and when I see an item in that colour I tend to buy it, knowing it would be suitable for wear with anything else in the wardrobe. I should consider need over want. 🙂 I am sure I could use less. Going to really work on that mentality. 🙂

Leave a Reply

