A photography session

There is a heath near my new house. I’ve been going up there almost weekly with my mother and wishing that I’d brought my camera. It’s a beautiful part of the country.

Today I did actually bring my camera on a morning run (the first for a few weeks) and the run became a walk when I arrived at the heath. The weather was very overcast today – so photos of the views were not being particularly forthcoming.

So I thought I would spend a some time playing with my supermacro function and aperture. Neither of which I particularly understand, but I’m steadily getting the hang of it. Practice makes perfect as they say…..

But here’s a few of my favourite shots from this morning….

MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

I love these purple flowers. They are only about 5mm in size. But the colour is fantastic! MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

I love these purple flowers. They are only about 5mm in size. But the colour is fantastic! MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

I wasn't entirely sure about this shot. But my husband really likes it so I thought I'd share it. I love the way the photography really helps you see things differently. MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

I wasn’t entirely sure about this shot. But my husband really likes it so I thought I’d share it. I love the way the photography really helps you see things differently. MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

I love the details in this shot. The fantastic thing about supermacro is that is allows you to see the folds on the petals! Which is insane.

I love the details in this shot. The fantastic thing about supermacro is that is allows you to see the folds on the petals! Which is insane. – MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

Not supermacro, but I had to play the aperture to bring out the colours in the sky. I love how it causes the trees to become a silhouette. - MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

Not supermacro, but I had to play the aperture to bring out the colours in the sky. I love how it causes the trees to become a silhouette. – MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

It's not the perfect shot. But I was really pleased to be able to grab a picture of the buzzard in flight. MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

It’s not the perfect shot. But I was really pleased to be able to grab a picture of the buzzard in flight. MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

Apparently one of the signs that it will be a long winter is the early arrival of holly berries. They are here. Apparently I need to hurry up and knit scarves!! MrsKirstyHoll 2015

Apparently one of the signs that it will be a long winter is the early arrival of holly berries. They are here. Apparently I need to hurry up and knit scarves!! MrsKirstyHoll 2015

With the weather we've had, there has been fungus everywhere. I spotted this one and loved the combination of the shape and colour. MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

With the weather we’ve had, there has been fungus everywhere. I spotted this one and loved the combination of the shape and colour. MrsKirstyHoll Oct 2015

What do you guys think of the pictures? There is a few here I might get printed onto canvas.

All the best

Mrs Kirsty Holl

x

7 thoughts on “A photography session

Leave a Reply

