Troubles in Paradise

So my morning started off pretty chilled this morning. I woke up after hitting ‘snooze’ a couple of times before switching onto breakfast telly. Not paying much attention to it, I figured I may as well get up.

Yesterday I was super pleased with myself as I managed to work out how to set timers on the thermostat.

Turns out that wasn’t actually a great plan. It turns out our overflow pipe is a little bit of a shite.

When I got up today, I jumped in the shower (feeling a little smug because I hadn’t had to wait 1/2 hour for the water to heat up). When I switch off the shower, that smugness was soon replaced by a dread that flowed through every cell in my body. I could still hear the sound of running water. Shite.

I went into the spare bedroom to find running water making it’s way through my airing cupboard. No, unfortunately I don’t have a picture, I was too busy grabbing towels and making a panicked phone-call to my husband who is housesitting for a friend. Thankfully he didn’t take too long to arrive – and that my Dad has some plumbing knowledge. They were both total lifesavers.

This is the cupboard in question.

This is the cupboard in question.

Between the 3 of us we managed to set buckets and towels in the relevant places (me), do a temp fix on the overflow pipe (Dan) and turn off the hot water so it can’t make any more (me) and turn off the stop switch (advice from Dad) and run all the taps to empty the water containers in the loft (advice from Dad).

So my plan of a really chilled out morning involving a coffee and cereal was totally ruined by my attempts to have a wash. I got a lift into work with my husband having had no hot drink or breakfast and feeling very frazzled.

Thankfully any damage *touch wood* has currently only been done to rooms that haven’t been decorated yet. The laminate flooring will need to come up in the spare bedroom and we’ll have to see what damage has been done underneath. There was a little water coming through the kitchen ceiling – thankfully we had lots of pots from painting available to catch water and it looks like it’s avoiding the power sockets.

I can only thank what ever deity is up there that the leak started while I was in the house. If I hadn’t been there…. that would have not been fun to find after work….

Can somebody please remind me why this buying a house thing was a good idea?

On another note, I have now finally been in the loft (in a bid to play the balance game over joists to get to the water tank). The space is a relatively decent size – definitely a possibility of dormer extension up there later (for me to have a craft room again when we have kids and they steal the spare room).

Will update you all when I have more news.

Can I stop being an adult now? I’d like to know where to give my notice in 😦

Hope everyone else is having a better day!

MrsKirstyHoll

x

10 thoughts on “Troubles in Paradise

  1. You poor thing…hope everything dries out quickly. Had something similar when a builder sliced through a central heating pipe whilst laying a new floor, not fun! So much poured through the edges of the downstairs ceiling I thought it would collapse; but it didn’t and everything was fine without any real damage thankfully… live and learn hey? 🙂

    • Agreed 🙂 Thankfully my Dad was amazing. My lovely husband has popped home during his lunch break and given me some piece of mind. All starting to dry out already *touch wood*. I will have to get the towels out to dry later thought 😦

  2. Oh no! I’m so sorry, indoor floods are the awful and I too am SO glad you were in the house to keep the chaos at bay. Our washer kind of exploded once and flooded the kitchen, including the cabinets with our cast iron… Yeah, total hell. I here by say that this weekend you take a break from being an adult and chill 🙂 Possibly with ice cream if that’s your thing (it’s really hot here and I have cold treats on the brain)

  3. Pingback: A Progress Update – Master bedroom, Bathroom & Living Room | MrsKirstyHoll

Leave a Reply

