My WIP Projects · Updates

W.I.P – Breaking of my Sock Virginity

Up until the bank holiday weekend, I was a virgin sock knitter. It was a project that I had never before attempted or felt like it was something I needed to do.

That is the case no longer. Spurred on by my fellow bloggers/knitters/obsessives I have begun this knitting milestone.

What finally forced me to start was a fellow knitter friend (check out her amazing etsy shop here) when she leant me this sock knitting book.

image

I’ve now ordered a copy for myself from amazon (as having a copy on hand is going to be very useful) and a couple of other ones as well.

Getting Started Knitting Socks

It turns out that knitting socks is rather more as difficult than I thought.

I had to unravel. It ended up being about 2 sizes to big and apparently I was trying to be too clever trying to jump straight in with circular needles. Bad idea.

image

With the help of these other books I hope the method (using new techniques) will start to become clear!!

image

Toe-Up 2-At-A-Time Socks

image

How to Knit Socks: Three Methods Made Easy

Fingers crossed.

But I think the socks will have to wait. I am currently still camping on a mattress in my lounge, work is busy and decorating is starting to progress to downstairs now as well. So literally around my ears.

On an exciting note I have moved my magnets over and the kitchen is starting to look pretty!

I finally unpacked the scrabble magnets I got from waterstones! Here is a preview before they just become a way to spell rude words on the side of the fridge.

image

image

If you want to get yourself some to write rude words on your fridge (I admit to nothing) here’s the link to them on Amazon.

Scrabble Fridge Magnets

So what choas has been happening with you this week?

All the best and I hope your week is going well 🙂

MrsKirstyHoll

X

10 thoughts on “W.I.P – Breaking of my Sock Virginity

  1. Welcome to sock knitting! I’m loving the process so far on my one sock 🙂 I love your scrabble letters too 🙂 We only have one half side of one side of the fridge available for magnets and such…it’s mostly taken up with family pictures and magnets 🙂

  2. I like knitting socks on dpns. I feel like it’s much more manageable for the first attempt! Good luck!

      1. They’re honestly my favorite garment to make. Instant gratification when you get comfortable with it.

  3. Ooooh! We NEED Scrabble magnets in our lives!!!
    You’ve got this sock thing! Though it can totally wait until you’re more settled in – it takes a quite a bit of bandwidth. Also, I think double points are the better way to go, it helps to have four needles to make sense of the patterns. Let me know how I can help and how the books work out for you.

Leave a Reply

