My Finished Objects (F.O) · sewing

F.O – Pin cushion tutorial – vintage milk jug

Seriously love this Pin Cushion idea from House of NicNax.

image

I’m in the process of buying my first home. This home will have a second bedroom which will mean – for the first timeΒ  ever – that I have a permanent crafting space. So a beautiful pin cushion is suddenly an awesome (and very practical) idea.

My first thought is that this idea would work awesomely in a vintage style teacup. So I hit the charity shops in the hunt for an odd one.

Finally spotted (by my mother in law) is this seriously cute vintage milk jug.
I will continue to hunt for a vintage 1920’s teacup. But I’m loving this alternative.

image

image

I then had a hunt through my fabric stash – I’ve got a bit now due to my fabric patchwork project.

What do you think?

image

This was a really simple make. I literally managed to finish it in an hour.

The first thing I did was get measuring the jug. From that I could work out what size I needed the fabric to be.

image

image

I then got out my needle and thread and threaded around the edge.

image

Then pulled it tight…

image

Then I stuffed it full of cushion stuffing (my mother in law handily had one in the cupboard for that exact purpose).

image

The finished project (the second finished one for the week so I’m doing pretty well πŸ™‚ )

image

image

The original also had a button… but I thought it would look a bit much?

What do you think?

πŸ™‚

#vintage

7 thoughts on “F.O – Pin cushion tutorial – vintage milk jug

  1. I think it looks lovely like this. I made one in an egg cup for my husband because he was always nicking my pins for his weird and wonderful projects and he swears it is one of his best presents ever.

Leave a Reply

