photography

Photography and Walking are habits that go well together

The weather has got so much better down near where I live. So I used the opportunity to get out for a decent walk with a friend. We’re both training for the 10K, so she was also eager to get out for some more long-distance training. Rather than a jog, we took this one at a more leisurely pace. It didn’t stop my legs aching by the end of the day. Not surprising as the total walk was about 12.6 miles (according to Google Maps).

We started out about 9:30am Sunday morning and made it over to the Studland ferry fairly soon afterwards. It’s only £1 for both crossings. So a really cheap day out.

Pedestrian Ferry Ticket from Sandbanks to Studland beach
Pedestrian Ferry Ticket from Sandbanks to Studland beach

Walking along Studland beach was beautiful. It’s down on the south coast of the UK. Part of it is a nudist beach – so a great gage of the relevant temperature of the day. But there is also a national trust cafe – fab food but not fantastic hot chocolate – located at Knoll Beach which is slightly further along.

All the way along the beach we had a fantastic panoramic view from Poole, to Bournemouth to the Purbecks and to Old Harry Rocks.

DSCF7977 DSCF7993

These are some of the pictures from our rather amazing views along the beach
These are some of the pictures from our rather amazing views along the beach

DSCF7997

In a slightly odd twist on the usual routine – the Studland beach was literally covered in dead jellyfish. The only times I’ve ever seen jellyfish before are in aquariums or when I’ve been on holiday. So this was pretty weird and the jellyfish were pretty huge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You did have to make sure you were watching were you were treading. There were many lumps of their remains everywhere. Quite sad really.

Eventually we made our way through the swarms of jelly fish and up to fort William. According to my friends, Churchill had watched the practice D-Day landing exercise from here – after they had cleared some of the mines away. It’s worth a wonder up – the views are amazing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once we left the fort we made the last 1 3/4 mile walk to Old Harry.

We made it to Old Harry.
We made it to Old Harry.

DSCF8036 DSCF8037 DSCF8038 DSCF8039 DSCF8042

Distance walked so far 6.3 miles.

While I was there I took the opportunity to practice my makro photography skills on the most beautiful Thistle.

Thistle taken with Macro. Playing with angle
Thistle taken with Macro. Playing with angle

DSCF8077 DSCF8087 DSCF8090

In addition to having lots of fun taking pictures we also had a fantastic walk. Although I have to admit when I arrived home (after walking 12.6 miles) everything hurt. Thankfully after a hot bath and a long sleep this was slightly better. But I definitely think I will need to get myself a new pair of walking boots before I go on my planned walking holiday at the end of July.

On the bright side I’m definitely getting the feeling  that this walking habit is marrying up perfectly with my photography habit.

Leave a Reply

