How I can use the move to start me living a more minimalist lifestyle

During my lunch break today I stumbled across this article on Huffpost from 2013:

RYAN NICODEMUS, A MINIMALIST ALONG WITH JOSHUA FIELDS MILLBURN, DISCUSSES HIS SIMPLER LIFE

It’s definitely worth having a look through the article in full, but this is what I really took away from it:

“The idea is to pack everything, including the things that you know you will use (e.g., your toothbrush, deodorant, kitchen utensils, etc.) and then unpack only the things you need during the next week. So, if you need your toothbrush later today, you’ll unpack it. Need your shampoo and conditioner and moisturizing bodywash in the morning? Unpack it. Need some clothes to wear tomorrow? Unpack them. After a week, you’ll still see the vast majority of your stuff packed away in boxes. That’s when it’s time to make some interesting decisions: trash,donate, sell.”

The concept is to pack everything and get rid of the stuff that you don’t unpack.

My husband and I are due to move into our first house I August (fingers crossed). We’ve started packing this week and I’m seeing steadily more on my stuff being stored in colourful plastic boxes. Currently most of the ornaments and books have all been packed away. We’re essentially getting removing the stuff that isn’t useful on a day-to-day basis.

What I really like about this is the concept of sorting through the unpacking. With the total change of lifestyle this new house will bring us (I.e. I will be in cycling distance to work!) a sort pre-move isn’t necessarily the best option. The whole process should also make packing a little bit less of a stress too.

However, I do admit that most of my ornaments and all of my book will be swiftly unpacked once the room is ready. With the books I will remove them from the house once I’ve read them.

Can’t believe how much stuff will have to be left to pack until the last minutes thought.

Sigh…..

Leave a Reply

