Photography & Blogging 101 – #Day10

Day Ten: Build a Better Blogroll

Today’s assignment: create a blogroll to share a few links you love.

I’ve added a ‘Blogs I follow’ widget to the sidebar on the blog 🙂 Seriously, go and have a little look. There has been some really amazing bloggers around.

All these tasks to have a look at other bloggers has been great. I’m really in the habit of looking through my reader read. It’s so exciting to find all the great hints and tips on there.

This will continue to grow as I continue to blog. So don’t forget to keep an eye out.

Day Ten: Mystery & Lighting Effects

Today’s Tip: To stretch yourself, manipulate the light available to you to create a particular effect — use it to cast shadows and highlights to create a moody image. Work with natural light, or find an artificial light source like the stage lights above.

The direction of light has a big impact on your photos. Things lit from the front have few shadows, and are evenly lit. When the light comes from the side, shadows and highlights are introduced, creating more texture and complexity. Lighting from behind throws things into sharp relief, silhouetting your subject.

Not sure where to start?

  • Take your photo during the “Golden Hour”: the time just after sunrise or before sunset when natural light is soft and takes on color tones of its own.
  • Illuminate your subject with a flashlight or candle.
  • Take a street shot, using car headlights or street lamps to light your scene.
  • Try a photo during the day when the bulk of the sun is hidden, revealing patches or bursting rays of light.

Working with light is, at heart, what photography is all about.

This task reminded me of some pictures I took for work about a year ago. I was so pleased with the final result and I still think it’s some of my best work. Personally, I love the effect on the walls.

Maroq2

While I was sat at a dining table putting this together, I caught notice of an orchid flower on the window sill. It’s about 8pm in the evening and the evening light was catching the petals beautifully. To be fair, Orchid are one of my favourite flowers. So it doesn’t take much for one to catch my attention. Definitely thinking an orchid will be the perfect addition to the dining table – once I eventually decide which one I want!

I took a close up of the singular flower and did a group shot. I love the way the light adds definition to the flower. The colours were almost intensified in the evening light.

orchid 2 orchid

What are your thoughts? Do you prefer the singular flower or the group shot?

Leave a Reply

