Blogging 101 · photo101

Photography and Blogging 101 – #Day5 – Playing with themes and Isolation

So today’s assignment:

Today’s assignment: try out at least three other themes — even if you’re happy with the one you first chose. Try one you’re drawn to, and one you would never use.

So this on the face of it seems a little scary. But could be quite fun as well. I only tried a couple before I settled on the current one. So we shall see what happens.

So this is my current home page:

The home page before the experimentation began!
The home page before the experimentation began!

While I would love to experiment with them all, I’m going to limit myself to checking out the free ones. I can’t afford to fall in love with a paid one at the moment!

Theme = Snaps. This felt way to dark and grey for me.
Theme = Snaps. This felt way to dark and grey for me.
Theme = Afterlight. I thought I would have a go with a picture in the background. However, I do like to include pictures etc in my blogs and I think this will draw attention away from them.
Theme = Afterlight. I thought I would have a go with a picture in the background. However, I do like to include pictures etc in my blogs and I think this will draw attention away from them.
Skin = Coherant. This was a go an a more minimalist look. My main issue with this one is the hidden menu. I like having the menu showing to increase the ease of navigation around the other posts.
Skin = Coherant. This was a go an a more minimalist look. My main issue with this one is the hidden menu. I like having the menu showing to increase the ease of navigation around the other posts.

I also had a flick through some of the others as well. I’m going to stay with my current theme for the moment. I’ve actually grown quite fond of it….

What do you think? Do you agree?

Day Five: Solitude & the “Rule of Thirds”

Ok so, having also had to complete the task for day 4 this evening, I was a bit limited on subject matter. This concept to picture at 10pm in the evening is slightly more difficult. After trying a failing some sort of mug concept, I remembered my Russian Dolls and came up with this…

Isolation
It’s possible to feel isolated in a group of people you know really well and are really good friends with

Thoughts? It would be great to get some feedback 🙂

Hope you all have a lovely weekend!

5 thoughts on “Photography and Blogging 101 – #Day5 – Playing with themes and Isolation

  1. I’ve tried many times to use backgrounds with images, but like you, I thought they took too much attention and also that they made the page look messy when I also had pictures in the posts. One theme that did this well was one where I could add opacity to the background image (which I probably can do anywhere using CSS).
    Interesting blog!

  2. I lIke that you make use of screen shots to show your journey through trying other themes. I also find notion of photo as a background not appealing. My goodness the photo had me feeling that your Russian doll at the front was part of, yet disconnected from, its counterparts and then I read your interpretation. Spot on in my opinion. Thanks Heid 🙂

Leave a Reply

