Blogging and Photography 101: Gathering Inspiration from others and My Local Park

Another day – another task 🙂

Today’s assignment: follow five new topics in the Reader and five new blogs.

Why spend time reading other blogs?

  • Publishing posts is only half of blogging — engaging with the community is the other.
  • Considering what other bloggers write will inspire you and sharpen your thoughts.

Picking 5 news Topics: This could be fun.

  1. Crafts – I love trying new ideas – so hopefully I could find some fantastic inspiration from here. I’ll be re-blogging any awesome ideas here and then adding my attempts later.
  2. Exercise – With my new healthy-lifestyle mojo thing this will hopefully give me some fun ideas.
  3. Self-Improvement – This entire blog is about following me through my personal journey of self-improvement. So It would be great to get any sort of additional helpful hints and tips.
  4. Knitting – This is currently my ‘thing’. I’m actually learning how to follow patterns now (it’s like reading a new language!) so my ability to make actual things is much better. Looking forward to finding some awesome projects on here. I’ll be re-blogging any awesome ideas here and then adding my attempts later.
  5. Home Improvement – My husband and I are currently in the process of buying our first house. Which is super exciting, but I need to work out how to decorate this future home. So all ideas welcome!

Following 5 New Bloggers

  1. Minimalist Guy – In the self improvement theme. I already follow another minimalist type blog and I thought this would be a great chance to get another view on the subject.
  2. VivaLaVintage For your home – Wanting to get inspired for this potential future home – I think this blog could definitely helped.
  3. Pillowsalamode – This is a really cute craft blog with some really easy craft ideas. Definitely going to have a deeper nose through here later.
  4. Butterfly Mind – This seems to be a little on the strain of my blog. She’s also helping run the photography 101 course – so it will be cool to see how she interprets the challenges.
  5. Hitting the High Points – This is a completely new blog someone has started. So we shall see how the content goes 🙂 But we all know that when you start that followers and likers are what gets you motivated to continue. So I thought I would pass it on.

Day Three: Water & Orientation

After you snap your picture, rotate your camera and take a shot from the other orientation — horizontally if you first took the picture vertically, and vice versa. If you’re aiming for an establishing shot, what orientation works better? How does a vertical shot affect your scene? I opted for a horizontal shot above, as I wanted to capture more of the bay in the background.

For my jog today, my husband and I headed over to Poole Park lake. It’s a beautiful place we drive through on the way home. I have so many memories of spending time there as a child.

These pictures were taken on my Samsung 5.

Poole Park Lake. I have memories of riding around this small lake in a small train.

Poole Park Lake. I have memories of riding around this small lake in a small train.

Now called' The Ark' this used to be known as Gus Gorillas. I went to a number of birthday parties here as a child. I tried this shot landscape as well. But the photo didn't work for me.

Now called’ The Ark’ this used to be known as Gus Gorillas. I went to a number of birthday parties here as a child. I tried this shot landscape as well. But the photo didn’t work for me.

4 thoughts on “Blogging and Photography 101: Gathering Inspiration from others and My Local Park

  1. great work with your blog roll! It’s great what we can discover to help add depth to our own work just by checking out what other people are up to. keep up the good work! ~The TJ Blog

Leave a Reply

